BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>

Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.

Old Thu, Jun-11-2009, 03:24:43 PM   #1
Thespaceman

United States

Default Car died today. (P0340 Camshaft Position Sensor A circuit) Need some help

Hi everyone, i'm new to the M3 world and recently purchased my 2004 M3 last week. The car is in amazing condition (1 owner) and had all the service history. The problem happened this morning on my way to work. I had cruise control on going about 65mph and the engine died. I tried to compression start while I was still coasting but without success. It cranks over and everything else works but it wonít start. I checked the code and it said 1/1 P0340 Camshaft Position Sensor A Circuit (Bank 1 or Single Sensor). Has anyone had similar problems/same DTC? Any input is appreciated. Thanks
Jump to top Thespaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Thu, Jun-11-2009, 03:27:14 PM   #2
///Mo
///M-azing

well, my input to you would be to just replace the sensor... it's an easy DIY, if i remember correctly.
Old Thu, Jun-11-2009, 04:35:18 PM   #3
vmchurch

United States

Just had the EXACT same problem less than a week ago.

1. Check fuel fuse under the hood. Takes 5 seconds and it will throw a 340 code if it is blown (mine did, found out it was the fuse after i bought the sensor)

2. If fuse is ok, replace the exhaust sensor. Located way the F back on the exhaust side of the head. Takes a 7mm Allen IIRC. Not real fun to get at, socket works best